__φ(..) jotted thoughts

I'm starting a blog again after many previous failed attempts. Here's why this time feels different.

Jack Butcher
Credit: Jack Butcher

At several moments throughout my life, I thought it'd be cool to write down and post my thoughts. Sometimes, it was a blog. Sometimes it was on a social media platform. Every time, it was unfocused ramblings.

The end result was always the same. After a few weeks, the content I posted got little to no engagement. I'd question why that was the case, start to doubt my desire to write, then delete the content or the account altogether.

After months or even years, the urge to write and publish would slowly build, and the cycle would start all over again. This blog is a result of one of those cycles… but I feel more optimistic this time will be different.

Why?

Because I'm pursuing progress over perfection.

In every one of my past attempts, I wanted my content to be good from the beginning. I wanted it to be edited, crisp, digestible, relatable, shareable, basically perfect.

I'm ditching the notion of perfection. How can I expect my content to be good if I've never given myself the chance to fail, learn from my mistakes, and improve?

For everyone who can relate, I think Jack Butcher says it best. You need to get going, then get good.

I'll be using Ship30for30's guide as a reference for all of my future content. Consider this first post my embarkation. Cheers! 🥂⛵

#productivity #self-development